How to format or use satellite imagery to calculate impervious surfaces

Jump to solution
12-28-2021 10:01 AM
KimberlyHamm
New Contributor III

I am new to ArcGIS pro. I worked my way through the lesson "Calculate impervious surfaces from spectral imagery" https://learn.arcgis.com/en/projects/calculate-impervious-surfaces-from-spectral-imagery/ andI am now ready to do this on satellite imagery for a location where I live but I don't understand what image to use. If I'm just looking at ArcGIS pro basemap with satellite imagery how do I save just the area that I would like to work with so that I can use classification tools and raster functions? Or do I need to pull in satellite data from elsewhere like Google Earth? 

0 Kudos
2 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

"Spectral imagery" and "satellite imagery" are not always the same things. What you see in the basemap and Google Maps is really just a picture, whereas true spectral imagery will often include other wavelengths not visible to the human eye.

As the linked lesson plan notes, that lesson was performed against NAIP imagery. You can find NAIP, and many, many other imagery sources, on the Earth Explorer site.

- Josh Carlson
Kendall County GIS

View solution in original post

JayantaPoddar
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Map > Add Data > Data. Then browse to the folder containing the TIFF file(s).

JayantaPoddar_0-1640892517535.png

Here are some useful links to get started with ArcGIS Pro.

ArcGIS Pro quick-start tutorials—ArcGIS Pro | Documentation

Getting Started with ArcGIS Pro | Esri Training Web Course

Add data to a project—ArcGIS Pro | Documentation

Think Location

View solution in original post

5 Replies
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

"Spectral imagery" and "satellite imagery" are not always the same things. What you see in the basemap and Google Maps is really just a picture, whereas true spectral imagery will often include other wavelengths not visible to the human eye.