How do I remove the 180th meridian line on my map of Russia?

Jump to solution
03-18-2019 10:18 AM
JOSHUALOGSDON
New Contributor III

I'm not sure how to remove the line that represents the 180th meridian (international dateline) on my polygon. I have the "Russia Country Boundary 2017" feature layer added from the Living Atlas. My Projected Coordinate System is set to "Asia North Albers Equal Area Conic". I've tried to google this question, but I haven't come across an answer I can fully understand. I'm a student and very new to all this!

Thank you!

The line is actually a gap between the polygons.

Russia polygon with 180th meridian line

Using ArcGIS Pro 2.3.1

ANSWER:

Thanks to everyone below, it turns out I was not projecting correctly, which was creating issues down the line when editing polygons. Here's what I did...

1. Start a blank project in ArcGIS. Insert new map, go into its properties, change the Coordinate System to "Asia North Albers Equal Area Conic".
  2. Add "World Countries (Generalized)" from the Living Atlas. Select Russia and Export Features to new feature class layer.
  3. Search and select the Project tool from Analysis>Geoprocessing>Tools.
  4. Select the Russia layer for input. Select "Current Map" for Output Coordinate System. Run.
  5. Now edit the polygons to close the gap and merge to remove any lines. All done!

Hope this helps. The only thing that bothers me with this fix is the addition of shape area (484,914.49674 m²) and shape length (4.59 m) to the original Russia polygon. These numbers could be different depending on how you close the gap, and possibly affect data projections depending on your use of this map? IDK, but thank you everyone who helped get us this far!

26 Replies
JOSHUALOGSDON
New Contributor III

Hey Kate, so my issue was projecting on the fly, when I should have used the Projection tool for the layer instead. It finally works now! Thanks for all the help!

PLS_KateGladstein
New Contributor III