Associating point data with a time series table?

02-24-2021 03:53 PM
Labels (2)
NCC-TU
by
New Contributor

Hi, 

I am fairly new to ArcGIS Pro though have been using ESRI products for a few years. I am wondering if this idea I have is possible to do:

I have a point feature class of sites where water temperatures were recorded over a period of several months. I have separate excel and csv tables with date, time, and water temperature readings for every site where data was collected (so one table associated with each individual point). 

1. Can the excel tables be linked to the corresponding point, and how do I do that? I see there is something called a NetCDF and multidimensional data and it sounds like that can relate to time data, but how to set that up and use it is a bit over my head.

2. If 1 is possible, can I take things a step further and create an animation showing the points changing color based on the water temperature changing over time? What would that process look like?

Appreciate any help and can provide more specifics about what I'd like to do if that helps.

Thanks,

Andrew

0 Kudos
4 Replies
MehdiPira1
Esri Contributor

Hi @NCC-TU ,

The point feature class can be joined with your table using a common field (e.g., Site or a common ID field). Once joined make it a permanent feature class by exporting it.

Then you can create a NetCDF multidimensional feature from this feature class since it has water temperature. The following link provides a good information about what NetCDF tools are available in ArcGIS Pro, how to create a NetCDF feature, ....:

I hope that's helpful.

Mehdi

NCC-TU
by
New Contributor

Hi Mehdi,