Arcpy scripts keep giving an error "TypeError: expected string or bytes-like object"

Jump to solution
10-11-2021 02:48 AM
Sahaja
by
New Contributor III

I am new to arcpy and most of python too. My new org has arcpy scripts (written by ex-employee) that would convert TAB files to shp and also create buffer zones in an shp. It was working great until we upgraded ArcGIS Pro to 2.8.3. With basic skills in python, I'm expected to debug this script. This is the script we are using -

#Import libraries
import geopandas as gpd

#Set directory as the same path as where this file is saved/pasted
abspath=os.path.abspath
abspath = os.path.abspath(__file__)
dname = os.path.dirname(abspath)
os.chdir(dname)

#Create a subfolder within the directory, folder called siteboundary
ProjectFolder=dname

#Locate the tab file and set as variable
#The script is locating a file that ends with "Site Boundary.TAB"
files=os.listdir(ProjectFolder)
Tabfile=[i for i in files if i.endswith('Site Boundary.TAB')]
def listToString(s): 

# initialize an empty string
    str1 = " " 

# return string  
    return (str1.join(s))
TabfilePath=ProjectFolder+'\\'+listToString(Tabfile)

#This creates the site boundary shapefile
Tabdata=gpd.read_file(TabfilePath,driver="MapInfo File")
ShapefilePath=ProjectFolder+r"\siteboundary.shp"
Tabdata.to_file(ShapefilePath)

#This creates the site's multiring buffer

#set arcpy environment
arcpyenv=ProjectFolder

#Allow arcpy to overwrite
arcpy.env.workspace=arcpyenv
arcpy.env.overwrite=True
arcpy.env.overwriteOutput = True

#Set multi ring buffer parameters 
distances=[200,500,1000,2000]
bufferunit="meters"
arcpy.analysis.MultipleRingBuffer('siteboundary.shp','sitebuffer.shp',distances,bufferunit,"distance","NONE")

#Print end message when done
arcpy.AddMessage("Conversion done,your file is located in"+arcpyenv)
print("Conversion done,your file is located in "+arcpyenv)'```

[Here's the image of the error][1] 

[1]: https://i.stack.imgur.com/z89Vs.png