ArcGIS Pro: how to QUERY a text field with a numeric operator

08-06-2018 06:59 AM
ChuckBenton
Occasional Contributor

I'm using an AGOL based feature layer that has all its features stored as text.  I want to use a query such as "Tot_Value >= 500000", however I get an error since Tot_Value is a text string.  I recall an earlier version of ArcMap allowed this type of operation using the same data source, so I believe it can be done.  I'm not a SQL expert, but assume I can cast this to an Int or similar, however a web search is coming up dry, and attempts on my part generate errors.  Suggestions? 

0 Kudos
33 Replies
RichardFairhurst
MVP Honored Contributor

You should try Cast(tot_value as float) > 500000 and cast(tot_value as int) > 500000. It is almost certainly the field type part of the argument that is throwing the error, since for a long time only float worked with fgdbs even though that type was not even in the documentation.  I just stumbled on it randomly.

0 Kudos
MichaelVolz
Esteemed Contributor

The Cast statement does not appear to be helpful as the OP still gets an error.

Chuck:

Have you tried working with ESRI technical support on this issue?

0 Kudos
FredCoud
New Contributor III

It worked perfectly fine for me, with ArcGIS Pro 2.1.3. Thanks !

0 Kudos
JoshuaBixby
MVP Esteemed Contributor

You can do more with ArcPy than what the GUI will let you.  Since the ArcGIS relational data store is backed by PostgreSQL, try the following in the Python window:

arcpy.SelectLayerByAttribute_management(layer, "NEW_SELECTION", "CAST (Tot_Value as INTEGER) > 500000")
ChuckBenton
Occasional Contributor

Josh,  Thanks.  I've tried:

arcpy.SelectLayerByAttribute_management("PAAG_-_Feature_Layer\PAAG_-_Feature_Layer", "NEW_SELECTION", "WHERE CAST (TOT_VALUE as INTEGER) > 500000"")

but get

Parsing error
SyntaxError: EOL while scanning string literal (<string>, line 1).

I started with the layer not in quotes (which is how I think it should be)... same error.