3D Scene - Drape image over 3D layers?

06-23-2021 03:33 AM
Daniel_Hardwick
New Contributor III

Hi,

I am creating a 3D scene and wondered if it is possible to drape an image over a 3D layer, such as Mastermap. 

I am relatively new to 3D, but I have a scene setup which is using Mastermap data (joined with Mastermap heights csv data), so the Town Centre has 3D buildings. I can drape over a basemap or aerial imagery onto the elevation surfaces, but obviously the buildings extrude above this. Is there a way that I can make the aerial imagery drape over the 3D mastermap polygons? 

I have achieved something similar using a Digital Surface Model, as I can use this as an elevation surface, and then the aerial imagery drapes over this. It doesn't drape over the DSM that well though, which was expected, and I feel draping over the Mastermap polygons would look much better with the heights being generalised (obviously far from perfect though). 

I also wanted to be able to do this to make a new building in the Town Centre look as realistic as possible. I was hoping I could extract out just that particular building and then add in some images for each angle. Not sure if it is possible though or if there is any workarounds? 

0 Kudos
14 Replies
JayantaPoddar
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Is the 3D building Feature Class in multipatch geometry?

Then, you can 

1. Convert Multipatch to Raster , you may opt to keep the cell size same as the DEM Raster.

2. Add the above Raster to the DEM using Raster Calculator. Expression: "MODEL_Z_RASTER" + "DEM_RASTER"

3. Try draping the satellite/aerial image on top of the new DSM Raster.

Think Location
0 Kudos
Daniel_Hardwick
New Contributor III

Thanks Jayanta,