Options to Remove Metadata Location URL Information

05-10-2019 09:10 AM
Labels (1)
StanJohnston
New Contributor II

I've been using ArcGIS for 15 years and when a few years ago during the Sony database hack, I thought of a useful modification to the metadata editor in ArcGIS.  We all know that there is an automatically updated location URL where our data is stored.  The problem I found is that when you export your SHP file or feature class within a file geodatabase you send automatically have location information in that URL within the metadata.  If it's a SHP file it's 'easy' enough to remove the location information from the XML file but, if it's within a file geodatabase it becomes more problematic. The reason for me making this observation is that I've noticed that file geodatabases that I've downloaded from government sources in the past, have the original file location URL info within the feature class metadata.  This to me, in light of the Sony hack seemed to be a potential security issue.

How could this be a security issue?

In a scenario where an organization has a lot of geospatial data from a lot of different departments and they make that data available for download as SHP files or file geodatabases, either freely or through licence agreements, you could potentially if you downloaded all that free data, begin to see a partial representation of server names, file directory trees within an organization.  That in my opinion should never be allowed.

A way to combat this would be by adding two elements to the metadata editing tools:

1. Add a check box which would allow for removal of the URL info. This would apply for geospatial data that is going to be offered up for public download.
  2. Add a numerical entry box which would allow the metadata editor to selectively pick the directory tree depth, of the full directory to keep.
  • D:\Source_Data\Projects\Project_001\Industrial\2019\Spring.gdb

would become

• \Spring.gdb

or alternatively