Display coordinates of feature geometry in identify tool.

04-16-2010 02:27 AM
GopiP
by
New Contributor III

It would be better to get the coordinate information about the feature geometry displayed when identify tool is used.  This can be simple X and Y coordinates for the point feature.  And for all other larger geometries like polyline, polygon etc, an optional show geometrical coordinates button can be used.  The user can have the option of either seeing the geometrical coordinates or not.

17 Comments
SabinaBernhard
I would like this function as well, and also the ability to label X,Y,Z,M values in the map.

Inger_LiseWideroe
I would like to bring this idea back to life. I work in the aviation industry, and 3d data is essential in our GIS-charting. (We use ArcGIS 10.0) When making obstacle charts our analysts need easy access to x,y,z values for features in their charts. 

It would be a great enhancement if they had a geometry info tool that would give easy access to z-values for points, lines and polygons.

When clicking on a line the tool should snap to the nearest vertex and return the z-value. Our worklflow today is to calculate z for points, and go through the sketch tool to access vertexes for lines. Too many steps to get access to z-info. Please consider improving how we as users can access information about z-values.

EvenStangebye