Large administrative boundaries with standard tax parcels

06-29-2022 01:25 PM
Labels (1)
Paul_Christensen
Occasional Contributor

I have been running the Pro Parcel fabric since July 2020 and I am currently running the most recent version, 3.0. Recently, I decided to try and add my larger boundaries such as tax districts and city limits into my fabric as authoritative parcel types. They are all in the same fabric that I run standard tax parcels from.

I am running into some pretty large performance issues. Districts and city limits don't change often, but they end up being incorporated into my every day edits because they are now in my fabric.

If I build extent over several tax parcels, the tax district builds and the Dirty Area ends up being extremely large instead of just the few parcels that I intended to build which makes Validation very slow. 

Using tools such as Merge Points, if I select a point that happens to be shared with a district, Pro locks up for minutes at a time before it becomes active again because of the large polygon size.

This and many more issues makes me want to take these authoritative boundaries back out of the fabric.

What is the recommended data structure for something like this? Should I put them into a different fabric? Is it unusual for authoritative boundaries to be mixed in with tax parcels? I want to at least keep city limits, because recording annexations will be very useful with parcel lineage and fabric tools.

4 Replies
AmirBar-Maor
Esri Regular Contributor

@Paul_Christensen 

Thanks for posting this question. 
Would you be able to open a technical support case and provide your data so we can have a look into it?
The polygons of administrative parcels do not participate in the topology and should not create a large dirty area.