Why does the time slider not display for my time-enabled hosted feature layer in ArcGIS Online

Jump to solution
02-06-2018 05:52 PM
RobertNorheim
New Contributor III

I'm completely new to ArcGIS Online so forgive me if I am overlooking something that should be obvious. 25 years of desktop Arc has not prepared me for this.

I have published a "Feature Layer (hosted)" to my organizational ArcGIS Online account (following the tips given in https://community.esri.com/thread/172204).  In the Layers section of the Overview tab, Time Settings is displayed and enabled.  When I open the layer in a map viewer, the time slider does not appear as promised. Nor does any of the data show for that matter, although you can see the data in the Thumbnail in the Overview.  What am I missing?  Many thanks.

Here's the URL for the service: https://services.arcgis.com/JL4BwWcjcPuWhBm9/arcgis/rest/services/StoryMap_MTBS/FeatureServer

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RobertNorheim
New Contributor III

BUG ID: BUG-000111202
Synopsis: In ArcMap, when time is enabled on a field other than text or date field types, or the value in a text field does not equate to date/time, the service fails to publish any features to ArcGIS Online.
Meaning of status: This case defect has been reviewed and will be fixed in future releases.

View solution in original post

15 Replies
RobertScheitlin__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Robert,

When I do a simple Query with where 1=1 and return count I do not get any features (records) i.e. count = 0...

Here is the Query:

https://services.arcgis.com/JL4BwWcjcPuWhBm9/ArcGIS/rest/services/StoryMap_MTBS/FeatureServer/0/quer... 

RobertNorheim
New Contributor III

OK, well then the question is why didn't the features upload, and why do they show up in the thumbnail ... again, I followed the procedures given in the thread I linked, and obviously something wound up online, just not the features. Why would that happen?

0 Kudos
RobertScheitlin__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Robert,