what is the disadvantage of leaving esri access disabled for an organization member?

Jump to solution
09-03-2015 05:50 PM
AllisonHoff
Occasional Contributor III

I am an AGOO administrator and am considering leaving member's esri access disabled. This removes the button for community and forums from the website. Other than removing that shortcut are their other consequences for the member?

Allison

T3G Alums

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
CharlieFitzpatrick
Esri Regular Contributor

Enabling or disabling Esri access inside an Org permits or prohibits that login from the following: entry into GeoNet, commenting on blogposts, accessing Virtual Campus. If a person has used that login to do any of those tasks, and that login subsequently becomes associated with an Org, disabling access would prohibit the user's access to what they had done before. Similarly, if a person has only the one login thru which to do those tasks, disabling access would prevent accessing via that login. In either case, the user could establish access via a different login (might need a different email, since a single email can be associated with many logins but only a single Esri access).

"Best choice" will depend on the degree to which your primary concern is Org security or ease of operation or reliability or user longevity/transferability.

View solution in original post

6 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Keep them separate.  I am an administrator on our universities account, and I posted content there assuming Public acces would mean that...except at one level, public means within our university and not the outside world.  We don't allow access of our content to the 'real' public.

http://www.arcgis.com/home/item.html?id=15ca63aebb4647a4b07bc94f3d051da5