When I overwrite a weblayer and the weblayer is a public weblayer, the share setting from the feature layer is changed from public to the owner. The dataset is no longer publicly after republishing.
Is this normal behavior? I don’t have the right to set items publicly.
Changes and updates to the web layer after it was initially published are lost.
I think this would be expected. When overwriting, you can specify the sharing levels. If you cannot share public by your user settings, I think this is expected/desired behaviour to prevent users from sharing data publicly. You are overwriting the sharing settings back in Pro.