(Noob question) Linking to other webmaps, how to interact?

08-06-2021 07:45 AM
MillionMap
New Contributor III

Hello, 

First, let me state I am new to arcgis online so I hope I get my question across in a way that you can understand and are able to help me. 🙂   

I am attempting to produce a webmap that consists of my data (gas well points) and beneath my data display data the state of kentucky has produced.  I can achieve this visually however I wish to be able to interact with the data from Kentucky.  By interact I mean,  select something from the Kentucky data and obtain a popup.  

Currently I am adding/linking to my webmap another webmap I have located at the following link I found via arcgis online search. This webmap contains information about the geology of the state of Kentucky. https://kgs.uky.edu/arcgis/rest/services/KYGeo_WGS84/MapServer

My understanding is the above webmap obtains it's information from the data at this link; https://kgs.uky.edu/kgsweb/mapdata.asp .  

Within Arcgispro I can add data from the last link and everything works as desired within arcgis pro, all of the Kentucky data is interactive.  My question is, does anyone know of a way within arcgis webmaps I can achieve the same result?   

I am new to arcgis online and arcgis pro both in general. So, I  might be adding the Kentucky geology webmap incorrectly to my webmap. Also, there is a chance, and I honestly don't know, perhaps I don't need to add another webmap to my webmap and should be adding the data from the last link directly to my webmap, I don't know how to do this.  

Any advice at all would be appreciated. This seems like something that should work since that I can get it to work in arcgis pro, I am sure me being new is just the problem. 

0 Kudos
5 Replies
JayantaPoddar
MVP Esteemed Contributor

You need to enable pop-up at layer level (for desired layers). Click the three dots (...) under the layer name > Enable Pop-up. Then you may also configure pop-up, if required.