How to upload/import local CSV files into new Map Viewer (formerly "Map Viewer Beta")

Jump to solution
04-14-2021 06:53 AM
TraceyFinnegan-Wiese
New Contributor II

My organization uses ArcGIS Pro/ArcMap on the desktop, however I am a novice user and have never found the desktop tools to be intuitive so I only use ArcGIS Online for creating maps and this is strictly done with uploading local CSV files. In the existing ArcGIS Online tool users can import a local CSV file as a layer into Map Viewer Classic (formerly known as “Map Viewer”) by clicking on the Add content button, import, and CSV and then users can browse for the file on their local devices. However, I cannot figure out how to do this in the new Map Viewer (formerly known as “Map Viewer Beta”). The only option I see is clicking the circle with the plus symbol in it and then clicking CSV, but by doing so it doesn’t appear the user can select a local file – it has to be a url address (e.g. https: // <enter URL>) and none of my files are in a url format (I have no idea how to even make a local csv file as a url). Am I missing something? Given that I’m not a super-user I suspect I’m missing some important steps, but I’m hoping this new Map Viewer isn’t going to require a bunch more steps to import a local csv file. Please respond in laymen’s terms if possible as I rarely understand all the technical jargon used by the GIS gurus. Thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JeremyBartley1
New Contributor II

Loading from My Content is still your best bet.  You will get better performance and you will have no limit on the number of features you can add.  It is independent on which map viewer you chose as your default.

JeremyBartley1_0-1618422216948.png

That being said we will in the future have a way to upload local files directly in the new map viewer.  

jeremy

View solution in original post

5 Replies
JeremyBartley1
New Contributor II

Hi Tracey,