hide fields in table - ArcGIS Online

06-23-2022 02:47 PM
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

Is there a way to permanently hide fields in a hosted feature layer table without creating a hosted feature layer view?

I'd rather not have two layers of the same information showing different fields.

This is in New Map Viewer not Map Viewer Classic.

Thanks to all.

15 Replies
Robert_LeClair
Esri Notable Contributor

In this Esri Community post, there's a response by KhaledHassen that says you can turn off field visibility using the layer updateDefinition API with an example.  I'm not a developer but it seems this may work.

In addition, this link and Example twelve may be the way to do it.

0 Kudos
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

it seems there's no simple way as there was with Map Viewer Classic

0 Kudos
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

it's odd that there seems to be no way in New Map Viewer to permanently hide fields that remains after the map is closed then reopened.

i'm not sure how to use the API Python solution so find myself simply disappointed with ESRI on this one.

JeremyBartley1
New Contributor II

In classic Map Viewer the table honored the popup field visibility which led to confusion (why does popup field list visibility control table field visibility and vice versa).  We disentangled this relationship in the new Map Viewer.  In a future release we will support a table field visibility in webmaps.  

You can control field visibility through views like you mention.    

0 Kudos
ZackK
by
New Contributor III

Is the field visibility supported now?  I can't seem to find it.  If not, is there a possible timeline when this feature might be implemented and supported?  I'd hate to setup views, then not need them in a month:)