error with UpdateCursor in Jupyter notebook

03-18-2021 05:24 AM
GrantBenn1
New Contributor III

Hi,

I am new to Jupyter notebooks in AGOL. I am trying to develop a script which updates a field in  a hosted feature layer based on what has been entered in other fields. I am getting an error (code 400) pointing to the "for row in cursor:" line. This script works perfectly on my desktop machine. Any ideas as to what might be wrong? Here is what I am seeing in Notebook.

GrantBenn1_0-1616070232033.png

Thanks,

Grant

0 Kudos
16 Replies
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

For one thing, ArcPy is only available in the advanced notebooks (the ones that cost you credits to run), so I'd make sure your notebook runtime is correct.

If you're working with hosted layers and AGOL, you're much better off using the ArcGIS Python API and spatially enabled dataframes. Here's a sample of how you might use it:

from arcgis import GIS

# Log in to portal; for AGOL notebooks, you can also use gis = GIS("home")
gis = GIS('portal-url', 'user', 'password')

# Get your hosted layer you want updated
fc = gis.content.get('itemID').layers[0]

# Query out all features to a dataframe
df = fc.query(out_fields=['the', 'fields', 'you', 'need'], return_geometry=False, as_df=True)

# Subset rows for those where 'field_a', etc., is greater than 0, add 1 to 'target_field'
df.loc[df['field_a'] > 0, 'target_field'] = df['target_field'] + 1
df.loc[df['field_b'] > 0, 'target_field'] = df['target_field'] + 1

# And so on

# Submit updated dataframe back to hosted layer as updates
fc.edit_features(updates=df.spatial.to_featureset())

It's quite different from using cursors, but once you get the hang of using dataframes (see the pandas docs for more info), it will become much, much easier. And more versatile, as pandas is widely used with other python modules, and can import/export a wide variety of file formats.