Add *.DWG file as layer into ArcGIS Online

04-14-2013 11:19 PM
GiedriusPasakarnis
New Contributor III

It would be great to have possibility after defining coordinate system to add CAD file (*.dwg) as layer into ArcGIS Online platform.

6 Comments
WillyLynch
CAD data, *.dwg, *.dxf or *.dgn would be great to be able to share as feature services in ArcGIS online.  Many mining companies use CAD tools for mine planning and that data is the source data which then needs to be shared across the mine life.  
E__ScottArnett
I have been using Autocad and Carlson software for over 20 years. As GIS continues to grow in the mining industry I see a great need to make Cad drawings merge with ArcMap in a more user friendly atmosphere. It could be setup as an import Cad file menu. This would bring into Arcmap the drawing in the projection the the drawing was created in. The file name of the drawing could be the layer, and the layers in the Cad drawing could be sub-layers that can be turned on or off etc..
MattDavis4
A simple capability to position or georeference CAD data as well as image files would greatly benefit the ability to store the data and use them as a source for map and feature services!

These capabilities would benefit a large number fo users across industries!
keithornbaum