Redesigning a City's ArcGIS Online Home Page

08-22-2016 08:19 AM
RachelWeeden
Esri Contributor
32 18 9,579

If I weren't a GIS professional, I always thought a cool back-up job option would be to name paint colors. Of course, as a GIS professional, I get to play with color here and there - styling a map, designing a web app, etc. So, I knew it would be a fun assignment when, earlier this summer, the City of Boston's GIS team let me and LDafner-esristaff help with a redesign of their ArcGIS Online site, which they call BostonMaps. And even better - the redesign involved working with the City's new web color style, which included wonderfully-named hues like Charles Blue and Freedom Trail Red.

Some background - several years ago, we worked with the City on their initial ArcGIS Online release. They wanted to make a big splash, and were very deliberate about designing their ArcGIS Online presence - creating a banner graphic, customizing the home page, creating new icons, etc. And the result was well-used for several years - but it was time for an update. One thing that spurred the update was that the City was developing a redesigned web site - pilot.boston.gov (now released). It would be a completely different look and feel - the City developed a new brand guideline, complete with new typefaces, logos (and, of course, colors).

Design and branding (especially in digital media) is becoming increasingly important to local governments, and I'm increasingly hearing GIS professionals mention that they want to build maps and apps whose design is harmonious with branding standards. So, we had our marching orders - make the new BostonMaps design harmonious with the pilot.boston.gov site. I wanted to share details of the work we did, in the hopes that it might be useful for others going through a similar process. Here's the approach that we took, in three simple steps: