How to download feature layer(s) to local machine using notebook

05-07-2020 09:44 AM
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

I've been working through this post to try to download/backup my feature hosted layer(s) to gdb onto my local machine from ArcGIS Online using Notebook but it is not working. I can easily create a backup in a user's/my contents online but it does not work when I try and download the files to my desktop or similar. 

My code is below (excluding personal info) - it doesn't error it just doesn't really do anything?! I'm very very new to this so appreciate its a bit clunky. Any tips greatly appreciated!

#import modules
from arcgis.gis import GIS
from arcgis.features import manage_data
import time, os, fnmatch, shutil
from pathlib import Path

gis = GIS(username="Username", password="Password")

item_id = 'itemid'

data_item = gis.content.get(item_id)
data_item
data_item.title

fgdb_title = data_item.title
t = time.localtime()
timestamp = time.strftime('%d%b%Y_%H%M',t)
result = data_item.export(fgdb_title + ' ' + timestamp, "File Geodatabase")
result

data_path = Path(r'C:\Users\name\Desktop\backup')
if not data_path.exists():
 data_path.mkdir()
extract_path = data_path.joinpath('export')
result.download(save_path=data_path)
result.download
0 Kudos
8 Replies
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

Hi Flora,

I'm so sorry for the slow response - your question must have slipped through the cracks. In case you still have this question I'll answer.