What are realistic global turn delays for fire engines?

01-20-2016 07:36 AM
DavidDenham
Occasional Contributor

I am new to Network analyst, and I am trying to determine what global turn variables I should use to estimate travel times for fire engines.  The delay times that I have seen on GeoNet seem to be somewhat low.  For example I would think that when you include the time that a fire engine needs to decelerate and accelerate for a right hand turn that the delay would be greater than 5 to 10 seconds.  Am I wrong about that and does anyone have a better idea for what global turn delays should be used?

0 Kudos
15 Replies
AndrewTangeman1
New Contributor II

I have the same question, and in fact this is something that appears (is it?) to be a lacking feature in ArcGIS. The city I am working with uses ArcView 3.3 and Arc Markup Language (AML) to create a turn restriction table and append it to a .NWS dataset that is compatible with their CAD product. There has to be a better way to produce these files.

Does this relate to your requirements? If so, I can provide past correspondence between ESRI on the topic and the lack of support for this workflow. I am interested in knowing if anything has changed since then. I would appreciate an ESRI response on this thread clarifying this functionality (Ahem... any ESRI reps want to chime in?).

JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus

How do you use AML with ArcView?  I don't even know if ESRI supports either anymore....

That should just about do it....
0 Kudos
AndrewTangeman1
New Contributor II

Yes, that is the problem. It may be a limitation in dispatch system to only accept a certain network dataset formats, but I think it might relate to the inability to add robust turn restrictions in anything other than ArcView 3.3.

I want to move away from this workflow ASAP, so hence my piggybacking off of your prompt.

0 Kudos
ChrisDonohue__GISP
MVP Alum