Using Free North American Detailed Streets for Network Analysis

03-15-2012 05:07 PM
derikandreoli
New Contributor
I'm not new to ArcGIS, but I am new to ArcGIS 10.

I've done service area analysis in the past, but this was done on a University computer maintained by IT.

I downloaded and installed the free trial software for both ArgGIS 10 and Network Analyst, and I downloaded the free "North American Detailed Streets for Network Analysis" layer package from here: http://www.arcgis.com/home/item.html?id=f38b87cc295541fb88513d1ed7cec9fd

I added the streets to a basemap, activated the network analyst extension, and added the network analyst toolbar. But all options are 'grayed out' on the 'network analyst' dropdown window.

I suspect that I need to build a network from the streets layer package.

Has anyone else gone down this path?

Any guidance is greatly appreciated.

-Derik
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
derikandreoli
New Contributor
Bueller... Bueller
0 Kudos
AlexeyTereshenkov
Regular Contributor III
Derik,

The data you've downloaded is a layer package (.lpk) file which can be unpacked. To unpack a layer package, either drag the .lpk file into ArcMap or right-click on the .lpk file and select Unpack. Alternatively, you can use the Extract Package tool and specify an output folder.

Unpack will always extract the package into your user profile under:

XP - C:\Documents and Settings\%username%\My Documents\ArcGIS\Packages
    Vista and Windows 7 - C:\Users\%username%\Documents\ArcGIS\Packages

The unpacked data for this layer package is an SDC dataset which represents the streets for the North America (basically you can think of this SDC dataset as a geodatabase feature class stored in a special non-geodatabase compressed format). This implies that you would have to create a new ArcGIS network dataset based on the streets data. That is why all the Network Analyst buttons are greyed out - there is no valid network dataset layer added to the map document.