I need to know how to create transfer junctions for a multimodal transportation network dataset

05-18-2018 03:11 PM
DestinyKelley1
New Contributor III

I am a college student trying to create a multimodal network for MTA in New York City. However, I learned that having a NYC street feature class, a subway entrance feature class, a bus stop feature class, transit line routes and bus routes are not enough to create a working multimodal network. I need something called "transfer junctions" feature class(es) that connect these sources somehow before I can even begin to use network analyst's create a network wizard. I have read that transfer junctions are point features. I have searched online how to create them but there is nothing that is helpful anywhere. 

How can I create these "transfer junctions" myself? Due to the volume of data that I have, manually using Editor to create them is not feasible for me. I need a tool in ArcMap that can generate them, and I see no such tool available in Network Analyst. I cannot believe ArcGIS's help doesn't explain this well at all. I am a novice at creating networks. Any help offered would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

0 Kudos
5 Replies
MelindaMorang
Esri Regular Contributor

Hello Destiny.

I presume from your question that you have worked through the Creating a multimodal network dataset tutorial and are trying to replicate the network dataset structure with your own data.  The network structure used in the tutorial data is just an example meant to explain how network connectivity works.  It's not an "official" data model of any kind, so that's why you won't find any documentation about how to create "transfer junctions".

Before I dig into that data to remind myself what the transfer junctions do, let me ask you a clarification question: What is the goal of your project?