Counting the number of barriers the routes of an OD Matrix pass through

06-13-2011 09:54 AM
AmberCantell
New Contributor
Hello,

I'm pretty new to Network Analyst, but am trying to come up with a way to get Arc to count the number of potential "points of conflict" the routes of an OD Matrix pass through. I have these "points of conflicts" stored as a feature class points layer, and each point falls exactly at the intersection of the lines in my single line road network feature class.

I've found I can sort of do this using "Accumulation Attributes" (working my "Points of Conflict" feature class into the network, then using it as a cost with a constant value of "1"), in which case, Arc reports the number of points in the final ODlines table.

However, I'm having a problem where a lot of my points are coming up as "standalone junctions", because Arc does not place a junction point everywhere there is a possible conflict.

I'm wondering if (as an easy way around the standalone junction problem) there's some way I could just load these points as "point barriers" and have the OD Matrix report on those (or count them as accumulation attributes), but I can't find any way to get this to work.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
2 Replies
RobertGarrity
Esri Contributor
Hello. I saw in your other post that you said the following:
When I did the build of my network dataset, it did not put a "ND junction" point at all these points (and I can't see any pattern in where it opted to put one vs. not put one). Any of my "POC" points that are not coincident with the ND junction points produces a standalone error.