Basic Pedshed Analysis - skewed results

08-23-2022 08:16 PM
GISMac
by
New Contributor II

Hi,

I am new to Network Analysis but have been watching some tutorials in order to complete what I thought was a basic analysis.

What I want to do is use road network data (custom) and generate a Service area using a 800m distance. I will later update the road layer to include footpaths.

What I have done:

1. Create Network dataset using my roads layer. (no elevation involved).

2. Updated properties to turn on Indexes and add Walking as a Travel Mode (not that this should matter as it is 800m either way)

3. Build

4. Import the train station as a Facility

4. Run Service Area tool

The results are not correct. The area is skewed to the N/W and there is no reason someone cannot walk/drive 800m along the easterly roads (800m). There are no restrictions as far as I am aware. I have also run Topo checks (Topo) on the road data for the following:

• Overlaps
  • Intersects
  • Pseudo-Nodes 
  • Self Intersect

As a test I drew a straight line from the station and re-ran, it picks this up! (TEST) which indicates it is the road data topo, but how!?

FYI I have also run a Repair Geometry on the roads.

Does anyone have any ideas on what is going on with the road data and why it doesn't seem to be seen as a network?

Thanks

0 Kudos
3 Replies
MelindaMorang
Esri Regular Contributor

My guess is you have some sort of network connectivity problem with the roads.  Likely your connectivity policy isn't configured correctly for your data.  Here's some information explaining connectivity: https://pro.arcgis.com/en/pro-app/latest/help/analysis/networks/understanding-connectivity.htm