ArcGIS 10 isn't exporting all layers to PDF

07-08-2014 12:01 AM
RichardAlexander
New Contributor

I'm a student in an Intermediate GIS class and I'm using ArcGIS 10.1 on my Windows 7 Pro computer. I've spent 1.5 semesters exporting my MXD files to PDF, but now ArcGIS is ignoring some layers in one of my assignments, and I don't know the reason. I'm using the GIS Tutorial 2: Spatial Analysis Workbook, and I'm trying to export the map I created in Chapter 5-8, pages 188 and 189. I can see everything on the screen the way it is supposed to be, and my legend is correct, but the polygon feature classes that I created to demonstrate network analyst are not showing on the PDF. If I export to BMP, the feature classes show, but they don't show when exported to PDF. Does anyone have any ideas how I could get those three feature class layers to show in PDF?

Thank you.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
6 Replies
TheoFaull
Occasional Contributor III

1. try increasing the resolution in the General tab on the export map dialogue,

2. then go to the advanced tab and try playing with the options there.

Perhaps your version of Adobe Acrobat is too old?

0 Kudos
RichardAlexander
New Contributor

Resolution already is set to maximum.

I've tried all the options in the Advanced tab.

My version of Adobe Acrobat is the most recent (10.1.10). I also tried opening the file on a different computer that is maintained by my school, with the same results.

Thank you for your suggestions.

0 Kudos
BrandonLeague
Esri Contributor

Hi Richard,

You could try dragging the layers into a new mxd and see if that gets it working. Also, this article has a good troubleshooting test:

17783 - Diagnose an ArcMap printing or exporting problem

0 Kudos
RichardAlexander
New Contributor

I did not know that I could drag layers to a new mxd. How would I do that?