Hub site not indexed by Google (it is by Bing though...)

03-29-2022 11:35 AM
TylerCowdreyWADNR
New Contributor II

I am experiencing issues trying to get a Hub site to show up in a Google search (url: https://kelp-canopy-vital-sign-for-puget-sound-wadnr.hub.arcgis.com/). When the issue was first identified a few weeks ago I added many tags thinking that might be the problem, but it does not appear to have changed anything. Further digging shows that the site is not even indexed by Google, despite being live for over two months now (see attached).

Using the Google Search Console, there are a number of options to add the site to Google's index but I have not been able to implement any of them. It appears that the level of "ownership" of the site required to implement these solutions is not something I have access to (e.g. edit DNS configuration, upload HTML file to site home page, embed HTML tag in the <head> section of the site, etc.).

I am not a web developer, so perhaps I'm missing some other way I should be going about this, but I'm at wits end currently. I've avoided creating a Google Analytics account so far because it's something we're not really interested in, but maybe that's a potential solution.

Hoping someone here knows more about this than me and can point me to a solution. Thanks!

15 Replies
KaraUtter
Occasional Contributor III

I have this same issue with a Hub site we developed for Northern Rockies URISA. Apparently there should be some updates this year that allow for a better search engine in Hub, if I remember correctly. Is that right, @ShaneClarke ? It was so long ago that we discussed this that I can't recall exactly.

0 Kudos
TylerCowdreyWADNR
New Contributor II