Can Explore Feeds in footer be removed?

Jump to solution
08-02-2022 06:36 PM
Leigh_Brooks
New Contributor II

I'm a hub novice. I set up a site for a volunteer group and am testing on mobile phone since there doesn't seem to be a mobile device simulator when configuring the hub. The group is not GIS savvy, needs the site very simple. The downloads work differently on mobile than on my laptop. A volunteer complained that it's not intuitive and too many buttons to push to get to full documents by phone. I agree. He also asked what Explore Feeds is and asked if it could be removed. I haven't yet found a way to do that. Anyone know?

Tags (2)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ThomasHervey1
Esri Contributor

Hello @Leigh_Brooks 
Thanks for your comment. If you believe that you're seeing a bug or a suability problem with downloads on mobile, please reach out to our support team.

Regarding the Explore Feeds button, I understand your point that the group is not GIS savvy. Currently there isn't a way to remove this button, but we're adding functionality that will be useful to non-GIS users. For example, through the Explore Feeds button, users will be able to subscribe to an RSS feed, the search catalog, and eventually email notifications for updates to the site and site content. We believe that this path is the best way to promote community engagement and lower the barrier to entry for community members to collaborate on their site. With that said, it would be useful to know more about if and how you or your volunteer would like to promote community engagement. How do you plan to communicate with your volunteers? Do you need the ability to subscribe to content or event updates?

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
ThomasHervey1
Esri Contributor

Hello @Leigh_Brooks 
Thanks for your comment. If you believe that you're seeing a bug or a suability problem with downloads on mobile, please reach out to our support team.