Hadoop Questions

04-07-2015 09:58 AM
JeremyGould
New Contributor III

First, let me say that I am new to Hadoop and all things related.  However, here at KYTC, we have been approved for a 15 node hadoop cluster (60TB).  I am looking to store our AVL data (salt trucks) in Hadoop via the ArcGIS Server Geoevent Processor.  This could mean as many as 15 million records for a 24 hour period during a snow/ice event.   My questions are this.  With the current UDF's, would we be able to show hotspots of where salt is being applied?  We will have the GPS locations every 10 seconds of 1400 trucks.  Will we be able to add additional information to the GPS points by using a near function (such as county and route) via the UDF's for hadoop?  Finally, do you know if/when more Hadoop tools will be available and supported/delivered with ArcGIS, or ArcGIS Pro?  I know this is currently an R&D, but is it getting any closet to being an out-of-box functionality.  We are very interested in using this.  Thanks.

8 Replies
RicardoBarros_Lourenco
New Contributor II

Hi Jeremy!

Well, I've been working with a dataset of 2.5 million records (2014 Divvy Data) on ArcGIS Desktop, and it was consuming a little time to render. Considering that your load is 5x greater on a daily basis, you need to work with a storage. However, for loading and processing this data, you should do any form of data reduction...

Depending on your use, it could be done on a way that doesn't compromise much of your results. For my case, I've done summarization before loading on arcgis desktop. You could do it by time, and once a certain period is elapsed discard some data... Or use all, summing all, and then apply a normalization for visualization...

JeremyGould
New Contributor III

Thanks Ricardo,

I will keep these things in mind.

SarahAmbrose
Esri Contributor

Hi Jeremy,

Congrats on getting a Hadoop cluster – you can read about our own experience here.