ArcGIS Map symbol size not proportional

03-13-2018 12:44 AM
ØysteinHermansen
New Contributor

Hi!

I'm making a size and color map and get problems with symbol size not being proportional to the value of the variable. I've tried different scaling for minimum and maximum size, but the problem persists.

I'm only allowed to choose from the top four classifications in the following list (from the tutorial pages 😞

-Natural breaks

-Equal interval

-Quantile 

-Standard deviation

-Manual breaks

-None

I'm guessing that I should have chosen "none" or "manual breaks". Is my data wrongly formatted? In the size field I've added a variable that is defined as numbers?

All the best, Oystein

0 Kudos
6 Replies
AnthonyLatini
Esri Contributor

Hello Oystein,

Thank you for reaching out! I apologize for the long gap between this post and a response. 

I am a Product Engineer for the ArcGIS Maps for Power BI application here at Esri, and I wanted to get in touch to respond.

I have attempted to reproduce this issue in the latest version of ArcGIS Maps for Power BI and I could not reproduce the problem. Based on the time this was posted we have had many fixes which may have addressed this issue. 

For reference, here is some documentation on Symbol Sizes and Classification processed in ArcGIS Maps for Power BI

Symbol Size - Edit the Map

Please reach out to us again if you need any further assistance!

Thank you, 

Anthony

0 Kudos
ØysteinHermansen
New Contributor

Hi Anthony! Thanks for responding! 

I tested this again today, with a recently updated version of Power BI. Problem persists...

Would be extremely helpful if you could test a very simple dataset and see where I'm erring..a lot of people have trouble with this in Power BI's maps as well and they're not fixing the issue.

I've pasted screenshots of the data and resulting map below. As you can see, the circles are not proportional in size.