Tips for importing large amounts of CADD data into ArcMap

07-08-2019 08:21 AM
EthanC
by
New Contributor

I work at a utility coordination company and although I have a background in coding and computers I'm brand new to ArcMap and GIS so I apologize if I come across as a little oblivious. Basically, I am trying to import a ton of CADD data into ArcMap and hopefully turn it into a geodatabase or shapefile. But, when I try to import all this data into ArcMap. It just freezes up and lags very badly. This is an issue I have been having in general with ArcMap and I suspect updating the company computer to Windows 10 will update some of the drivers and potentially help with this, but I am curious if there is a better way? This is a lot of data (around 2 GB) but I am sure this has been done before successfully. Any help I can get is appreciated.

0 Kudos
8 Replies
RobertBorchert
Frequent Contributor III

I have spent most the first 13 years of my GIS career (at this job) converting AutoCAD drawings of electric distribution systems to a working ESRI GIS.

Bringing a CAD dwg into ArcMap should not cause it to freeze up. Granted 2gb is a large DWG.

On a copy of your drawing.  Clean it up first.  I cannot remember the CAD command any more but there is a command to clear out and clean up the drawing and get rid of fields that are not being used anymore.  it is has an effect it will make your drawing smaller.

But if your having the issue with the computer lag in ArcMap in general upgrading the OS won't make much difference. What are your computer specs?  

Processor

RAM

GPU

Using explorer how much HDD space do you have?  If it is less than 10% you need to clean some out.

Run disk defragmenter

Are you pulling the drawings through a network?  If so try putting the drawing on your HDD.  Is your database on a network.  If so put it on your HDD.

We had a heck of a time trying to edit databases in our network until we upgraded to 100 GB

0 Kudos
EthanC
by
New Contributor