Issues with data & Imagery not displaying as expected, if at all.

04-20-2021 11:19 PM
SimonPook1
New Contributor III

ArcGIS for AutoCAD 400
Enterprise 10.6.1
AutoCAD 2019

Hi, first up, I am not a CAD user, so my CAD knowledge is....minimal....probably ending at being able to spell AutoCAD. 
I'm a lowly GIS Administrator trying to provide Spatial sustenance for our long deprived CAD users...and that's not going so well.

I have had our IT dept package up ArcGIS for AutoCAD & deploy it to a few users who use CAD daily & are keen to help get this up & running.
The plug in configures just fine, we can access our portal, see data within & add data to a CAD project.
Then things get a bit weird.

If a user adds a normal pre-existing Map Service, it'll draw & be visible in CAD within Model Space, but if the user flicks to Layout view, the map service is not visible. NO idea why?

Secondly, our hi-res Aerial Photos (Image Server) when added are not even visible in Model space.
Weirdly they were the first few times they were added, but now they aren't at all, and nothing has changed that would account for this with either the imagery or the plug in.
Restart, reboot, sacrifice live stock under a full moon, makes no difference, although the images seem to add to the project, they fail to draw & I do not have the foggiest idea why?

All the items tested behave fine within the GIS Environment, so the services are good.
What am I doing wrong?

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Randy_Garcia
Esri Contributor

Hi, 

map and image services are not supported in paper space only in model space because of this they are not shown in paper space. If you would like to see the map in paper space you need to "extract" the map. This will create a raster snapshot of the map at your current view, obviously this will no longer be dynamic. To extract, you can right click the map or image layer in the TOC and select "extract"