Field Maps Arcade Expressions

Jump to solution
12-10-2020 09:17 AM
BClaridge
New Contributor II

Hi There, I'm new to Field Maps and Arcade expressions.  I have done some research and believe I should be able to write an expression to auto populate a field based on the user entry into another field.  For example, if the user is collecting a point or line in a particular area which is in a field office- I should be able to auto populate the field office field with the name using some sort of select by location expression.  

I could use some help with getting started on the expression...

Something like:

//if point is located in X, then Y. The Field office feature is another hosted layer in the webmap. The field I want to populate is the $feature["ADMIN_ST"] and it has domains...

BClaridge_0-1607620606650.png

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

@Dan_Joyce_OE 

the popup doesn't display it in Field Maps and only shows the default fields.

Are you configuring the expression and pop-up in the newer Map Viewer? Field Maps doesn't fully support the pop-ups authored by the new Map Viewer (this is under development and planned for this fall). Can you try configuring the pop-up in Map Viewer Classic?

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
16 Replies
JeffShaner
Esri Regular Contributor

Welcome @BClaridge  and thank you for your post. Unfortunately this capability is not available yet. With the current support for Arcade expressions in Field Maps, we use the constraint profile and evaluate an expression for the purpose of displaying/not displaying fields. Use of the field calculate profile is on our roadmap and is perhaps the most important smart form feature for us to complete in 2021. 

Please let us know what types of calculate expressions you are looking to accomplish. We are looking for examples to help us drive priority of requirements. Thanks!

ScottLehto3
Occasional Contributor

Hi Jeff,