Field Maps and rasters

Jump to solution
08-02-2021 12:27 PM
PetronilaMandeno
Occasional Contributor II

Hello All, I'm new to Field Maps but I have been using Collector for a long time.

I'd like to just take a map I have built on ArcGIS Pro and load it into Field Maps. However, it seems to work fine for all my vector layers, but not two raster files (which are the most important ones).

There's nothing special about the rasters. One is in a geodatabase and the other is a TIFF file. They both represent versions of fuel models (vegetation) that I want to compare with reality.

I'm loading the map straight onto my tablet via a MMPK.

Any ideas? Would Explorer be better?

I don't need to change any data on the map. I just need to be able to see those rasters.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DanPatterson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

If they are simple enough, can they be converted to vector format?

Raster to Polygon (Conversion)—ArcGIS Pro | Documentation

... sort of retired...

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
DanPatterson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

If they are simple enough, can they be converted to vector format?

Raster to Polygon (Conversion)—ArcGIS Pro | Documentation

... sort of retired...
0 Kudos
PetronilaMandeno

Hello Dan,

Thank you for the suggestion. I am in the process of doing just that. But (there's always a butt), one of the rasters is 5m in resolution. So, of course, the vector file is huge (even with simplified polygons). I'll see if my Tablet can handle the file size.

I just checked and the file mobile map package is just under a GB. Fingers crossed it works. 😕

Thanks again,

Esther

0 Kudos
PetronilaMandeno

Quick follow up: converting to polygons worked, though I would have preferred the rasters. I hope they can figure out how to easily show rasters on a mobile map some day...

0 Kudos
David_Brooks
MVP Regular Contributor