ArcGIS Field Maps: Post-Esri 2021 UC Resources

07-29-2021 01:18 PM
DerekLaw
Esri Esteemed Contributor
0 0 470

ArcGIS Field Maps is an all-in-one app that uses data-driven maps to help mobile workers perform mobile data collection and editing, find assets and information, and report their real-time locations. It enables mobile workers to bring maps and data into the field to support different types of field operations across many industries.

ArcGISFieldMaps_Card.jpg

At the Esri 2021 User Conference, the most popular technical session (based on attendance numbers) was “ArcGIS Field Maps: An Introduction & What’s New”!! We are humbled by the level of interest from the GIS user community and wanted to share some resources to help address many common questions that were asked.

Introduction:

Q: I’m new to ArcGIS Field Maps. Where do I start?
A: Start with this video: Get to Know ArcGIS Field Maps. Then, you can learn more by exploring the help documentation.

Q: Are there any free learning materials for ArcGIS Field Maps?

A: Yes, there are several Discovery Paths and Learn lessons available:

General Questions:

Q: Why does ArcGIS Field Maps have a web app? How does it support mobile workflows?
A: The ArcGIS Field Maps web app (included within ArcGIS Online) is an app designed to streamline the process of configuring web maps for use in the field and is where you configure smart forms for your feature layers.

Q: Does ArcGIS Field Maps work with ArcGIS Enterprise?
A: Yes, the ArcGIS Field Maps mobile app is just another client app that can work with web maps and feature layers from ArcGIS Enterprise. The ArcGIS Field Maps web app is available for ArcGIS Enterprise 10.8.1 as a separate install, and is included with ArcGIS Enterprise 10.9.

Q: When will ArcGIS Collector, ArcGIS Explorer, and ArcGIS Tracker be deprecated?
A: These apps will be retired in December 2021. Please see this blog, Deprecation Notice for Explorer, Collector, and Tracker for more details.