Experience Builder Layer List vs Web App Builder Layer List

10-19-2021 07:58 AM
HelenCooper
Occasional Contributor III

Hi all, I'm fairly new to Experience Builder.  Is there any way of getting the layer list widget to look and act the same as it does in Web App Builder? In WAB I can have a check box against each layer, and an integrated legend, but I can't find a way of doing this in EB.

Web App Builder layer list:

HelenCooper_0-1634655427562.png

Experience Builder layer list:

HelenCooper_1-1634655484991.png

Thank you in advance for any guidance!

Helen

5 Replies
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

As far as I can tell, the only way to get that to work the same way is to add the embedded Layers tool to the map frame itself.

jcarlson_0-1634658932873.png

Outside of the web map object, you seem to be restricted to either using the Map Layers or Legend widget, but not a hybrid of the two. It might be worth posting this as an idea, though!

That said, using a Section widget, you could put your legend and layer list together into a single object and replicate this concept yourself.

jcarlson_1-1634659349396.png

jcarlson_2-1634659366543.png

- Josh Carlson
Kendall County GIS
HelenCooper

Thanks @jcarlson , that's a great suggestion - but what I really like about the WebApp Builder layer list is that the legend can be expanded beneath the layer each time (i.e. not from the separate legend tab).  I can't see any way of getting to this in EB - it sounds like it might not be possible?

HelenCooper_0-1634659798297.png

Many thanks, 

Helen

DavidColey
Frequent Contributor

Or in a sidebar or panel layout widget, place the layer list and legend vertically and as you click layers on and off the legend symbols appear.  I would then adjust the the height and width settings (stretch, auto, etc) on both data widgets to I like @jcarlson 's idea too. . . 

0 Kudos
HelenCooper