Updating coded domains on portal

Jump to solution
05-19-2021 09:16 AM
LLCCG
by
New Contributor III

I'm a new GIS tech (and only GIS tech) at an organization. This organization has a map layer that has coded domains for a field. The engineering team asked if we could add another value. I added it to the layer in ArcGIS Pro (2.7). 

That layer is visible through Portal. If I make a change to a feature on the desktop, that change is immediately visible on the webmap. 

However, my new coded domains are not updated. If I change the value of a feature on the desktop, the new value shows up on Portal (that is, if I manually change something from "0" to "1", it will show "1" when I click on it in the webmap).  However, if I try to edit it in the webmap, the new value isn't an option. If I go to the layer's description in Portal, it only shows the old coded domains, and not the new ones that I added in Pro.

How do I get these to update?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
dgiersz_cuyahoga
Occasional Contributor

OK, that makes sense. This is a map service with feature access enabled. Since this isn't hosted you'd have to update the domains in the service by either overwriting the service by republishing or using the REST API (to update the service definition.

I would try and find out who published it and how. You can also check the service details in ArcGIS Server Manager and to see  the original document used to create it and try and find that. Re-using that same document is the easiest way to republish. Make sure you pay attention to the Layer IDs, if those change it will break any Web Maps using the service.

#CLE #sloth

View solution in original post

19 Replies
Henry
by
Occasional Contributor II

Hi LLCCG, can you confirm if you're attempting to modify the Domains of a live Feature Service or Hosted Feature Service? I assume that's what you're trying to do.