Should the versions of ArcGIS for Desktop, Server and WebAdaptor be the same?

Jump to solution
06-27-2017 06:16 AM
JayHodny
Occasional Contributor III

Hi, we recently upgraded our Desktop users to Desktop 10.5.0.  We also upgraded the License Server Administrator to 10.5.0.  As I am new to a lot of this, I was looking around and noticed our ArcGIS for Server and the WebAdaptor are still at version 10.4.  In the past two weeks or so, we have been experiencing issues using Collector (latest version) on Windows 10 tablets (basemap loads, editable layers do not, and the error cites our webadaptor URL), but we cannot nail down when this may have actually started (as the tablet addition was fairly recent).  However, we do not encounter these errors on iOS tablets using Collector.  With my inexperience, and seeing the webadaptor URL, this has me wondering if we need to upgrade the Server and the WebAdaptor to 10.5.0.  And if we do upgrade, will we have to republish all of our services?  Thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JakeSkinner
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Hi Jay,

Web Adaptor and ArcGIS Server will need to be at the same release as each other, but ArcGIS Desktop can be at a different release.  Here is a helpful link that discusses compatibility. 

The upgrade from ArcGIS Server 10.4 to 10.5 is fairly simply.  You just have to run the executable and it will perform the upgrade for you.  You will not have to republish any of your services.  For Web Adaptor, you will have to uninstall the 10.4 version, and install the new version.  This is because it's possible to have more than one version of the web adaptor installed on a server.

Also, 10.5.1 is due to be released this week on the 29th if you want to wait until then and get the latest and greatest.

View solution in original post

8 Replies
JakeSkinner

Hi Jay,