Publishing a Service

07-05-2016 03:21 PM
ChrisMartin9
New Contributor II

Hello, I am trying publish a service and this is my first time so my only choice is to create a new one. I have version 10.4.1. When I get to the wizard to guide me through the publishing process it asks for a server URL and I don't know what to enter here. Any help would be appreciated. It is also asking for authentication. Is this my existing ArcGIS Online username and password?

0 Kudos
10 Replies
RebeccaStrauch__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Chris,  here is a tutorial that will walk you thru the steps.

Tutorial: Publishing a map service—Documentation | ArcGIS for Server

typically, I find it better to create a server-connection (administer or publisher) before starting the service publishing. Easier to reuse.

About connecting to ArcGIS Server in ArcGIS for Desktop—Documentation (10.4) | ArcGIS for Server

under same heding

Making an administrative connection to ArcGIS Server in ArcGIS for Desktop—Documentation (10.4) | Ar...

Making a publisher connection to ArcGIS Server in ArcGIS for Desktop—Documentation (10.4) | ArcGIS f...

To answer your question about the URL, try

http://<server name>:6080/arcgis

And the authentication  would be an admin account, or one with publisher privileges.

If you changes you password often (we have to change ours every 90days) I would recommend NOT saving the password, or it could lock you work/network account.  Better to enter it as you publish (exception is if you start looking at automating publishing...then maybe)

ChrisMartin9
New Contributor II

Rebecca,

Concerning the URL, do I just make up a server name? I don’t have a server name and all I have for the authentication is an ArcGIS Online account.

Chris

0 Kudos
JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus

Don't just 'make up a name'.  I don't know how you plan to use the map service; internally or externally, but I would suggest:

1.  Talk to your network guys and see if it has a registered name