How copy map service from one ArcGIS server Machine to another ArcGIS server Machine

04-01-2019 07:31 AM
IreneEgbulefu1
New Contributor III

Please I would like to know if there is a new and easier way to achieve the transfer of map services from one ArcGIS server machine to another ArcGIS server machine. I have over 400 map services to transfer.

Some two years back I was able to achieve this using the discomap.ServiceTransferTool that i found on this forum and the transfer was made from Version 10.4 to 10.5. Now we upgraded to a full ArGIS Enterprise environment  10.6.2 (ArcGIS Server, Portal for ArcGIS and Datastore) unfortunately the tool has failed and every effort have proved abortive. I keep getting this "No JSON object could be decoded" error. I am not good with JSON and I couldn't figure out what it is that is generating this errort.

I would really appreciate helps and contributions from anyone here.

thanks

Please see attached screenshots of the tool and the error I got when executed.

** Service 'Irene//CIP_Project.MapServer' information read successfully. Now transfering... (5 steps)
pathInitial line 653: E:\arcgisserver\directories\arcgissystem\arcgisinput\Irene\CIP_Project.MapServer\extracted\v101\CIP_Project.msdpathInitial line 655: E$\arcgisserver\directories\arcgissystem\arcgisinput\Irene\CIP_Project.MapServer\extracted\v101\CIP_Project.msdpathInitial line 657: \\Hamiltonpool\E$\arcgisserver\directories\arcgissystem\arcgisinput\Irene\CIP_Project.MapServer\extracted\v101\CIP_Project.msd msdPath line 659: \\Hamiltonpool\E$\arcgisserver\directories\arcgissystem\arcgisinput\Irene\CIP_Project.MapServer\extracted\v101\CIP_Project.msd simpleServiceName line 668:

CIP_Project finalServiceName line 672:

Irene//CIP_Project.MapServer
Failed script TransferServices...

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "Y:\TOOLS\Server Tools\discomap.ServiceTransferTool-master\TransferServices3.py", line 1280, in <module>