Can you install ArcGIS for Server Advanced Enterprise on SQL Server Express

09-04-2014 04:31 PM
JaromHlebasko
Occasional Contributor III

I am fairly new to ArcGIS for Server and I am trying to read up on documentation about different database management systems and I cannot seem to find an answer on whether or not I can install ArcGIS for Server Advanced Enterprise on SQL Server Express? I'm trying to set up an Enterprise Geodatabase with the trial version of Server Advanced Enterprise. Any help would be much appreciated.

42 Replies
AsrujitSengupta
Regular Contributor III

Basically you don't need SQL Server Express or rather any DBMS for installing ArcGIS Server. They are completely separate installations, with no links as such w.r.t installation.

Yes, the SQL Server Express instance can be used to create an sde enterprise geodatabase, as required.

Here are some links for reference. these are for 10.1. You can search for similar links for 10.2.x as well.

• A quick tour of setting up a geodatabase in SQL Server:

ArcGIS Help 10.1

• Creating a database and geodatabase in SQL Server:

ArcGIS Help 10.1

• Enabling geodatabase functionality in an existing SQL Server database:

ArcGIS Help 10.1

• Setting up a connection to SQL Server:

ArcGIS Help 10.1

• Database connections in ArcGIS for Desktop:

ArcGIS Help 10.1

0 Kudos
JaromHlebasko

What exactly is the main difference between Microsoft SQL Server express and just the standard SQL Server? I am leaning towards Amazon Web Services so it would be nice to know exactly what I need to get to effectively run the enterprise that I am wanting. Thank you for your help!

0 Kudos
JakeSkinner
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Hi Jarom,

Take a look at the section 'How is ArcSDE technology included in ArcGIS' in the following link.  Basically, with SQL Server Express you are limited to the amount of cores and RAM, database size, and the amount of users.  With standard SQL Server, there is no limit for any of these.

0 Kudos