Can't change service properties on federated GIS Server even though I'm an admin

11-08-2017 11:30 AM
CassandraFollett
New Contributor III

I get the following message in Manager,

"The service is owned by another user. The sharing properties can only be modified by the owner."

The GIS Server is federated with Portal, so I'm logging in to Manager using an account that has administrative access on Portal. Yet, I can't adjust any of the properties of the published services on the GIS server that are published by folks with the level of Publisher, but not properly shared with the organization. I want to adjust this on their behalf, but I get the "service is owned by another user" error.

Is there a way around this? With a federated server, is it possible to login to Manager with an account with elevated privilege to make such changes (Were it not federated, I know that an administrative account on the GIS Server would have those privileges).

Or, is this happening because administrative access through the web adaptor is disabled, so I would have to make this level of change on the host machine environment?

- Cassie

12 Replies
RebeccaStrauch__GISP
MVP Emeritus

dlaw-esristaff‌  do you have any input on this?

GISSupport3
Occasional Contributor III

What if you make the sharing changes to the federated items in Portal?

DerekLaw
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Hi Cassie,

What release of ArcGIS Server and Portal for ArcGIS are you using?

> ... but not properly shared with the organization

Not sure what this means, but I have to second GIS Support's suggestion; instead of logging into ArcGIS Server Manager to change properties - can you login to Portal (with a Portal admin account) and adjust the sharing settings?

Hope this helps,

CassandraFollett
New Contributor III

Derek, I may have missed some important details.