ArcGIS enterprise configuration in an intranet environment

Jump to solution
10-26-2017 06:07 AM
SaraEL_MALKI
Occasional Contributor II

Hi guys,

I've been reading the documentation for hours and hours but it's getting me LOST,

I wanna know briefly what's the optimal configuration for an intranet environnement for arcGIS server and Portal? 

we do have a windows server standard, arcGIS enterprise 10.5.1, Oracle enterprise database and a geodatabase.

some developers will use WAB Dev edition, edit and add content to the portal and server and others viewers of the Portal.

- for the SSL certificate, I will create a domain certificate, but what I didn't understand is will I need to buy a domain site and use it for this certificate or just create one by my own ?

- Will I need a multi-tiered deployment or all-in-one deployment ?

Deployment scenarios—Installation Guides (10.5) | ArcGIS Enterprise 

Excuse my basic questions because I'm a literal beginner

Derek Law‌ Robert Scheitlin, GISP Rebecca Strauch, GISP

Portal for ArcGIS‌ ArcGIS Server (10.0 and prior)

thanks in advance for your help,

Sara

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DerekLaw
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Hi Sara,

> what's the optimal configuration for an intranet environnement for arcGIS server and Portal? 

There is no 'best fit solution' to answer this question. It will depend on how many end users you will have, how many services you will publish, the types of services, if you will enable the ability for end users to also be able to create new hosted services in Portal, your security model, etc.

At minimum, if you want to leverage the full capabilities of a Web GIS - then you should start with a base deployment,

Base ArcGIS Enterprise deployment—Portal for ArcGIS (10.5.x) | ArcGIS Enterprise 

To learn more about ArcGIS Enterprise deployments,

Web GIS: Architectural Patterns & Practices - YouTube