A script for advance label expression

Jump to solution
09-24-2012 12:21 AM
SiyangTeo
Occasional Contributor
Hi, I was wondering if anyone can help with a specific script for labelling the below. I am totally new to VBscript so any help will be greatly appreciated!

There are two fields: [Animal] & [Species_Name]. E.g.: [Animal] = Frog, [Species_Name] = Rana catesbeiana Shaw, 1802

How could I make the label appear like this below?

Frog
Rana catesbiana
Shaw,1802

Basically the font size for the frog is set and bold, and the second field is text wrapped after the second spacing.

Thank u in advance!
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MarcinGasior
Occasional Contributor III
In this case the following script should do the work:
Function FindLabel ( [Animal], [Species_Name] )   Dim SpNameArray   SpNameArray = Split([Species_Name])   Dim Authors   Authors = ""   For i=2 to UBound(SpNameArray)     Authors = Authors & SpNameArray(i) & " "    Next   FindLabel = "<BOL><FNT name='Arial' size='12'>" & [Animal] & "</FNT></BOL>" & _   "<FNT name='Arial' size='10'><ITA>" & vbnewline & _    Split( [Species_Name]) (0) & " " & Split( [Species_Name] )(1) & "</ITA>" & _    vbnewline & Authors & "</FNT>" End Function

Here's the result:
[ATTACH=CONFIG]17952[/ATTACH]

This script puts two first words from [Species_Name] in one line and the rest words from this field in second line.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
MarcinGasior
Try the following code in Label Expression with Advanced marked:
Function FindLabel ( [Animal], [Species_Name] )
  FindLabel = "<BOL><FNT name='Arial' size='12'>" & [Animal] & "</FNT></BOL>" & _
  "<FNT name='Arial' size='10'>" & vbnewline & _ 
  Split( [Species_Name]) (0) & " " & Split( [Species_Name] )(1) & _ 
  vbnewline & _
  Split( [Species_Name] )(2) & " " & Split( [Species_Name] )(3) & "</FNT>"
End Function

This code, after setting Left Horizontal Alignment in Symbol properties, gives me this result: