list of valid addresses for each street name

10-27-2013 12:44 PM
MarcRousseau
New Contributor
I'd like to list of valid addresses for each street name. Entering the street name
and city would return a list of valid addresses. (abandoned/unused building are still valid
and returned in the list).

As an alternative option I'd like to enter street name,addresse and city and return true/false
if the addresse if valid/invalid

Thx 🙂
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
GregoryElwood1
New Contributor III
Greetings!

I worked as an Intern on an Address Verification project for one of the incorporated cities in the greater Los Angeles area. I have a few thoughts to share.

Our project started with the acquisition of multiple lists of known addresses. These lists came from voter rolls, sanitation records and a list purchased from a commercial marketing company.

The lists were merged and used as data in ArcPad running on Compaq PDA's (this was a while ago).

Myself and two other interns walked the city for three months one summer and verified whether or not an address was in our list. The ArcPad application was configured as a form that we could fill out in the field. We had the ability to add address numbers to the list while we were in the field.

All of the address numbers collected in the field were post-processed until a master, GIS shapefile of verified address points existed as the end result. This list was then provided by the GIS team to other city departments (e.g. Fire, Police, Code Enforcement, Planning, etc.).