Concurrent or Single Use Licenses,

Jump to solution
08-31-2017 12:04 PM
SamuelPerez1
New Contributor III

I am new to ArcGIS for Server and am in the works of implementing such an environment for my organization, and I was wondering (from an enterprise server standpoint) if there were any critical pros or cons to issuing a concurrent desktop license(s) among the users in my org, and if there were any real pros or cons to issuing single use licenses now knowing that there will be an enterprise environment later?

With that said, I am wanting to upgrade my org to Desktop 10.5.1 and am trying to decide whether to keep us on a concurrent license or to just go ahead and distribute single use licenses?

Any and all pros/cons and other info is greatly appreciated!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RebeccaStrauch__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Long term...that could still be an unknown.  Those of us with concurrent license are grandfathered in, but it it unknown if/when they will pull that out from under us and make us all move to named users.  Based on the fact that they did allow us to have Pro concurrent use license (with enough of us making an argument for it), I think we will be good for many (5?) years to come...but that is just speculation.  My opinion, don't give up you concurrent use licenses if you don't have to.

Just a tip about the newer terminology too, including here on geonet....  "Enterprise" is the 10.5.x umbrella term that includes ArcGIS Server, Portal Imagery Server, etc. "components" (?? My term)     Prior to 10.5.x it was more of a lower case "enterprise" and includes basically the same software, with the exception that Imagery Server was the Image Extension and part of ArcGIS Server (not a separate install).  The terminology isn't critical on how things install/work, but might help in the future if you see the terms (and they are used in that fashion).