Seems Like Collector Is Not Ready for Prime Time

07-02-2020 10:52 AM
MapManOregon
New Contributor III

I work for a Forestry company, and offline collection of points and line features is important.  We are conducting a trial using Collector and another third party software product.  I've been doing GIS for 32 years, and while I still have tons to learn, I have great supporting staff, and am not afraid to reach out for help.

Here's my quandary:  For the past 4-5 weeks, I've been working with Esri Tech Support - a great courteous person I might add - but they have not been able to fix all the problems.  I could go over all the issues (there have been several), but once we fix one, another pops up.  We are now getting an error when Syncing, and the tech person is not sure why.  This is essentially a show stopper.

My question is simply:  Are other folks having a long drawn out process getting Collector to work?  Do you feel like the effort may not be worth the time?  Is this software ready for prime time?  Honestly, I'd like to use Collector, but am close to uninstalling the software.

Thanks for listening.  I am REALLY looking forward to reading about other people's experiences.

0 Kudos
2 Replies
Katie_Clark
MVP Regular Contributor

Overall, using ArcGIS Collector has been a HUGE help to us regarding data integrity and efficiency when compared to the old way of collecting field data with pencil and paper. To be fair, we didn't experiment with any other similar products on the market to compare, but I'd say the benefits the software brings outweigh the headaches it can cause when there are sync issues, etc. (don't get me wrong, we've had *plenty* of those as well!)