Hi, I would like to ask if can I send my data (features) from 'Collector for ArcGIS' to 'ArcGIS for Desktop?

08-02-2016 02:33 AM
NikitaGroom
New Contributor

I tried sending the data by connecting my device (which is installed with Collector for ArcGIS) to the computer (which is installed with ArcGIS for Desktop [Arc Maps]). But the data does not show in ArcGIS for Desktop. Do I have to process this data first? Or I am unable to send it to ArcGIS for Desktop? I want to edit the data and update into maps using ArcGIS for Desktop. How can I send this data or process it? I would love your help, I have received much help from Esri, I trust I will get help from this one too.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
BertKraan1
Occasional Contributor III

Hello Nikita,

The only way I know (but I am a beginner) is via arcgis online. Sync collector with arcgis online and connect to arcgis online from arcgis for desktop.

MartinLeavitt
New Contributor II

Hello Nikita,

Bert is correct - the updated features will sync to the feature service. You can then connect to the service from ArcMap. The process for connecting to the service will  slightly vary depending on if you are using ArcGIS Online hosted feature services or ArcGIS for Server feature services.

If you are using ArcGIS Online hosted feature services, and you are not using disconnected editing, the updated features should automatically sync to the feature service. You can view the feature service in ArcMap by first going to File > Sign In > entering your ArcGIS Online Credentials. Then, you can locate the service in the Catalog tree by scrolling down until you see "My Hosted Services" > expanding this folder > dragging the correct feature service into the map document. Alternatively, the feature service should display newly collected features when viewed in the ArcGIS Online Map Viewer. Hope this helps.

NikitaGroom
New Contributor

Thank you all, I found it very helpful

0 Kudos
RandySteele
New Contributor III