Collector for GIS

04-11-2017 08:01 AM
JohnLoper
New Contributor

Hello. I am a newbie to GIS Collector offline. I am clueless about how to get started on making files available for download so they can be accessed offline. While I am proficient with GIS desktop analysis the buck stops there. Can someone direct me to where to get started? Like, do i need an enterprise account, server etc to first upload my files? Your help will educate me a lot. Thank you!

0 Kudos
4 Replies
MarkBockenhauer
Esri Regular Contributor

There are some Collector for ArcGIS Tutorials that may be of interest to you.  

Prepare maps for offline use—Collector for ArcGIS | ArcGIS 

-mark

RebeccaStrauch__GISP
MVP Emeritus

In the last couple weeks, we have also been looking into using  Collector for more for offline use (no cell or Internet).  I'll share a few of our experiences....In particular, in the link Mark included, take notice of

Note:
Going offline requires using hosted data or data on ArcGIS 10.2.2 for Server or later.

But in another help doc which I read last week (but which I can't locate right now, of course)..

To use the sync capability, all the data in the feature service must be from an enterprise geodatabase. Also, you must prepare the data so it can be used offline and, if required, synchronized through the feature service when you have connectivity.
The data you use in a sync-enabled feature service can be either nonversioned with archiving enabled or, if your organization's data or workflows require it, the data can be versioned.
Be aware that you can only enable the sync capability when all the data in the map is configured exactly the same; you cannot have a mix of versioned and nonversioned data.

So, in not 100% sure whether whether AGOL hosted works or if it requires Enterprise SDE.  However, in an initial test using hosted services and with sync enabled (as required) the download app button in Collector was disabled....so more testing for us.