Changing color of symbol to indicate inspection

02-10-2016 06:12 AM
TravisAnderson
Occasional Contributor

I'm a novice when it comes to ArcMap and Collector so hopefully one of you folks can help me out with this.  We are water utility in Ohio and are developing (rather slowly) a hydrant and valve inspection and maintenance program. We currently use Collector, iPad and an EOS Arrow 100 external receiver to gather field data and so far things have worked fairly well. I would like to use Collector to facilitate in our hydrant and valve inspections. What I would like to do is create a way for the field staff to be able to change the color of a hydrant or valve once it has been inspected. If I would tap on the hydrant and see the attribute window display, is there a way to create a drop down arrow or something similar to change the color to indicate that it has been inspected or that it needs replaced, etc.? Visually, the field staff and office staff could quickly access what has or hasn't been inspected. Thanks for you help.

Travis

0 Kudos
12 Replies
LuciHawkins
Occasional Contributor III

Hi Travis,

Do you have already setup that is populated with Yes or No for inspection state of the hydrant?  If not, you need to set one up and then you can change the symbology based upon whether the field is Yes or No.

Luci

0 Kudos
TravisAnderson
Occasional Contributor

Luci,

Yes. I have done that. I created a Domain with the option of Yes, or No, but I’m not sure how to keep that drop down menu available when I upload them to AGOL and try to use them on collector. All of the fields are available but nothing that was contained in the Domain. I’m not sure what file type I would need to export it as to maintain the functionality of the domain choices.

Thanks for your help Luci.

Travis

0 Kudos
LuciHawkins
Occasional Contributor III

Hey Travis,