Importing KMZ Files with British National Grid

05-07-2015 03:50 PM
PaulBushnell
New Contributor

Hi,

We are building a City Engine model at the moment. As part of this model we wish to import KMZ files with 3D models. We can do this however it appears that the buildings imported are slightly misplaced. I think the issue is that to get them accurately positioned we need to specify the transformation required (in this case Petroleum). Is there a way that this can be specified?

Thanks,

Paul

0 Kudos
7 Replies
RichardDaniels
Occasional Contributor III

I'm not an expert on this, but hope this helps.

In CityEngine the default coordinate system is CityEngine CS (Meters). When working with georeferenced data you need to set a valid coordinate system set. There are three methods:

1. Setting a Coordinate System when GeoRef data is added to the scene
  2. Setting a CS when creating a new scene
  3. Change the scene CS in the preferences

When a CS is changed no projection on the fly is done -you are only defining the projection CS for the display. Secondly, geographic CS are not supported AND CityEngine does not support Datum-Transformations. Thus you need to project/reproject your data to a common CS prior to importing into CityEngine.

If you have a datum issue it looks like you need to fix it prior to loading into CityEngine

More information can be found at : http://cehelp.esri.com/help/index.jsp?topic=/com.procedural.cityengine.help/html/manual/georef/scs.h...

Rich

SepheFox
Frequent Contributor